I had a baby on a Thursday morning (obviously a few months ago). The ladies go to school on Tuesdays and Thursdays and the teacher sends home notes in their back packs to keep me in the know. Our neighbor helpfully took the kids to school that Thursday. Paul and I came home from the hospital on Saturday evening. When Tuesday rolled around again, the neighbor offered to take the ladies to school again, and I let her. I sent them off with their coats and back packs. As is my habit, I looked in each back pack when they came home, and found a note that had come home on the previous Thursday informing me that Jane would have show and tell Tuesday. Oops. I asked Jane what she did, and she pointed to the ponytail holder with a jingle bell attached that has been riding around in the bottom of her back pack for months. Later Mrs. Z said she did a great job describing it, and demonstrating the bell.

This time, she took Paul. Mrs. Z did an awesome job getting her to tell about the baby. When she asked what the baby eats, Jane said “Nummies” which of course means both breast and breast milk at our house. Paul behaved himself well, he smiled when called upon and did not cry. He even let the other kids hold him a little.

We spoke with the lady who evaluated Jane the other day. She said her language development is on schedule. I guess for some reason, she is just hard to understand. I don’t have too many problems, but others do. She continues speaking while inhaling, (can you do that?) so the lady suggested visiting an Ear Nose and Throat doctor to see if maybe something was blocking her vocal cords. I remember even at four months, she sounded like a baby pheasant. The last time she visited an ENT, he pulled an enormous gob of foam out of her nose. Our Dr ran blood tests as well and said her lead levels and iron levels are normal. Abnormalities would be indicators of pica. I guess it is a relief to know that Grandpa Daddy’s calling her Weirdo (in a kind way) is justified. I haven’t made a decision about the ENT. It might just be that she does her own thing in her own way. Maybe I will ask our Dr for his opinion when we take Paul for his (*gasp*) six month checkup next week. How can he be that old?

Jane picked all of my daffodils a couple of weeks ago, right before we traveled west. Then last week, she picked all of my tulips. AAARRRGGGHHH!!! I know why she is doing it, she wants a bouquet like a “wedding bride”. I guess our iris plants don’t do much, so they are safe.

Mae taught herself to read. We have been paging through Dick and Jane for the past two or three weeks, sounding out words, then last night GD came home from voting with a sticker that had a V that looked like a checkmark and said Nebraskans Vote. Mae said “That says vote” then she and GD sounded out Nebraskans. She blows me away. I stand in awe of my daughter, and I feel sorry for her Kindergarten teacher this fall! The principal said they work at keeping the kids with others at the same reading and math levels. This will probably mean Mae will be reading with the first graders, and maybe doing math there too, miss “I can look at my fingers to add numbers”. (I still look at my fingers to add numbers.)

Leo has some vocabulary quirks. He can’t say dog or cat, but he can say Bob the Builder (badabulda) and Firefighter (fififirefire) and Schoolbus (poobah). He also tells knock knock jokes, which nobody else understands. Usually they involve “knock knock,” “who’s there?” “Knock knock” etc.

Paul is smiley and happy and spits up all the time.  That is about it for him, no awesome rollovers or even sitting up by himself, although we do his baby calithenics.  While on his back we practice running, walking, kicking, boxing and clapping, then we do three sit ups and then we practice rolling over once from back to front.  This is a vigiorous workout for a baby!

I hate naptime on nice days. Leo needs one everyday, and the ladies need one today too, but I would rather be outside having fun with them right now. Then this evening we have to go to a rehearsal for Saturday’s dance recital, so when they get up we will have to hustle to get a sitter for Leo then off to town, with not enough time to play.

