My husband listens to country music, and has his alarm set to the local station. This morning I awoke to a reminder of exactly why I left country music behind. The first song, played before 6 in the morning was about a child getting the tar beaten out of him or her, I was too sleepy to tell which. This was what I awoke to. After the snooze was something about “there is no love here anymore.” Let’s wake up and have a great day now.

I started out listening to country music in the 70s through an AM station out of Denver with my dad. Mom listened to her classical records. Somewhere in grade school, maybe around age 11, the man of my dreams (at the time) listened to top 40 pop rock, so I did too. A high school boyfriend listened to folk, so I added that to my play list. At a dance club in college (the crowd I hung with tended toward country) I requested “One woman man” by George Jones. The CDJ or whatever they call them looked at me with disgust and said he didn’t have any George Jones. I looked at him with disgust and said “How long have you been listening to country music? Six months?” The next week he had some Jones CDs.

Some where around the time Garth Brooks discovered, and subsequently ruined, Chris LeDoux I started to leave country. It had become rock, and not the kind of rock I liked. Now a lot of it sounds like rap to me, and I just don’t care for rap. Sure some of this new country is okay, but I don’t care for most of it.

After college I went to the black hole of telecommunications. We had no TV signal, and very limited radio signal. My choices were some guy droning for hours on end about corn markets with two songs thrown in for good measure or the public radio station blasting “classical across the heartland” (My slogan not theirs, but you have to admit it is a good one) so that is what I listened to. I liked the news, and the music was ok, most of the time. It beat hearing about wheat futures all day long. At home, I played the Glen Miller record I stole from my step dad. What I gained from this time period was a distaste for commercials.

After moving down here I found myself with some choices (although I think they are still fairly limited) for listening material. I have settled on a combo of a semi-adult morning show I find my self laughing to (and occasionally turning down so my little pitchers can’t hear parts), NPR and Christian radio. Somehow what I remember as pop/rock has turned a little too much toward the R&B or something that doesn’t seem to have a tune anyways.  I have problems with music I can’t dance to.

Today’s Christian radio is not the Christian radio of my childhood. I love it because it sounds like where I had hoped rock would go, and it is commercial free.  Some Christian stations are definitely better than others.  I don’t take the time to recognize who sings what, I just listen these days.  I have records, tapes and CDs of all kinds of stuff, and I am pretty open minded about what I would listen to. I try to keep a working knowledge of our music culture, but I don’t recognize many of the artists I read about in your blogs.  Since I don’t have the capability to download songs, it may be a while.  Music is kind of a big thing, so many different kinds exist. 

