I enjoyed my day at pre-school. We went to the fruit stand and got pumpkins, and got to see a fire truck. Lunch was hamburger stew, pears, biscuit and oj. Not too bad, they use “real” silverware at her school. The portions are quite a bit bigger than my kids would eat. My day brought to light some concerns about the program, so I will be researching it. I made the assumption that I would be happy with a school’s pre-school, but now I am not so sure. I like the teacher, she does a good job, but she is not in charge of her curriculum. We couldn’t visit last year, because it just opened this year. Ms. B said kindergarten teachers wanted kids to know how to write their names, tie their shoes and be familiar with numbers 1 through 10.

Mae is still working on the shoe thing. In soccer I have noticed that whenever you need an extra break, you can kick a shoe off and get an automatic time out while the coach re-ties it. Soccer 1-49

We have two more soccer games this fall. Mae is no natural athlete. I admit we need to practice more than we do. Maybe this weekend, if it isn’t too wet. These shots are from the first game, Mae is getting better at paying attention to the game, at least when she is in it. Her Uncle John plays soccer in Korea. I hope he pays more attention than she does. I am sure he can tie his own shoes, but maybe he doesn’t know how to get extra time outs.  Soccer 1-37

My husband and I learned to drive by helping our fathers feed the cattle. Starting at about age 6, we would steer the pickup while dad fed hay or whatever until dad (we didn’t have the same dad obviously, but I am assuming here that GD’s dad did the same thing) pounded on the roof, then we would slide under the dash and push the clutch onto the floor, effectively stopping the pickup. When we weren’t there to help, they used the seatbelt to steer somehow then they had to run and jump into the pickup to stop it. I have been telling GD that it is high time he taught the ladies to drive too. The last time I mentioned it, Jane said she would like to learn to drive, “then I could save you time and drive myself to the baby sitter.”

I am excited to see that they are fixing the bridge between our house and the bus stop. That will shave off 2 miles per trip, or six miles a day for you math fans!

Jane changed one of Leo’s poopy diapers last week. By herself. She was sure proud, and she did a pretty good job (at least as good as her father would have). I caught her in Paul’s crib several weeks ago after she changed his wet diaper. She told me she didn’t get it all stuck together, and I checked to see if he was wet, because subconsciously I didn’t believe her, and she said “I changed it!” Looks like I will soon be out of a job. I wish she would potty train Leo. I dread doing it. Soccer 1-08 Speaking of poop, I learned a lesson.  Don’t feed  your kids black refried beans and chips for a snack, healthy as it might sound.  It backfired on me, literally.  I had to change four poopy diapers before 9 this morning!

I am waiting for two more photos to upload, so I am going to keep on writing. If this seems dull, just think of the things I have deleted!  Paul loves his Oreos!

Soccer 1-13 Leo loves trailers and things that hook to things.  He is using the sled to haul around his toys and his sisters.  Paul is going to have to arm wrestle him to have the use of the walking thing when he starts walking.

Leo and I have been reading Fox in Socks. I am getting to where I can read it quite quickly, as it should be read. My favorite line is, (from memory, so it might be a little off) “I don’t like this trick sir, my tongue isn’t quick or slick sir.” It just seems appropriate this time of the year. That Seuss was a smart guy.

Ho we are on the last picture! I haven’t heard from the fast internet phone guy, I was hoping for yet this year, but we are almost out of months. I don’t even want to call him.  It is taking over 15 minutes per photo. 

GD came home this week with the news that his company is sending us on a Caribbean  cruise/meeting. Last time we did this, I came home pregnant with Paul. That won’t be happening again, so we‘ll have to look for other entertainment opportunities. I am really excited about trying scuba diving again. I am also excited about the food. I love to eat, especially things I didn’t cook and don‘t have to clean up. I plan to be in training from now until Feb so I can be skinny enough to really enjoy the food. Our waiter promised we would gain 5 lbs in 3 days. I beat that, but then I was pregnant too, never mind that it was only a few hours pregnant. I bought myself two souvenirs last time, a flamingo shirt and a cookbook from the cruise line.

Dad is coming for a night this weekend. I might have to get out my cookbook and try something new.

I spent most of that last 15 minutes cutting things out and editing, so consider yourself lucky.

 

