Every time I turn around it seems I have lost something. So far no kids – I do a head count when entering and exiting places, which I think helps. I lost Jane’s school photos. I have no idea where they are, as a last resort I even located a particular trash bag I had thought had been taken out, but no photos. I was tossing art projects by the dozen, and I thought maybe the photos were with them, but they weren’t. They weren’t really expensive, I guess I will order some more. It would be cheaper than having Sears take them.

I kind of hate to re-order, because I have been finding things too. I found (while looking for the pictures) Mae’s baby spoon, which I had wanted for Paul to use. I also found some alphabet letters from our Word Whammer under the fridge, and some dust bunnies I had been missing…

As I put on my winter church coat today I remembered how I love to find things, especially twenties, in old coat pockets. I found a pair of sunglasses (I am up to six pairs of found sunglasses) and Leo’s tie from Palm Sunday. I knew it had to be somewhere. He liked to wear it, but I couldn’t find it for the life of me, until the weather got cold that is. So much for the cute Easter photos. I am not sure why he likes it, he has never seen his father wear one.

What I would really like to find is the dead mouse near the kitchen sink. I am starting to suspect he may be decomposing under the dishwasher. I put the coffee pot in there tonight to wash. GD doesn’t notice the problem, but maybe when he gets the coffee pot out first thing in the morning he will. Removing the kick panel is high on my list of things to do during naptime tomorrow, unless someone else does…

Something I am not going to lose…I sold an anecdote to a magazine and they sent me a check for $75. Not too bad for the work of a few minutes. This is the most I have ever been paid, so of course I copied the check. Unfortunately writing does not always work like that, in fact it pays nothing if you never send things out! I need to work on that. (I admit this is probably bragging, but it is not like I got a book advance of a few hundred thousand dollars or anything. Think of it as sharing good news, not bragging.) I would like to have a freelance career off and running by the time Paul hits Kindergarten, so I could work from home. So far this year I have cleared $85.

