I went to a MOPS steering team meeting earlier this week. I am responsible for the newsletter this year. Each year someone new does the newsletter, so style and content vary widely from year to year.  I received several unsolicited compliments about the newsletter content. Yes, they were unsolicited. It occurred to me that you might also enjoy my articles, and they are already written, so with a small investment of time I have some blogs! (and I get to share fun information)  Space is limited, so the information is too.  I love trivia by the way.

The theme this year is Adventures in Motherhood, kind of a circus/amusement park thing. This will explain some of the content. I have a little space on the front page where I write about some sort of amusement park thing. Inside I usually write an article about something that pertains to our group in some way or another.

For those of you who do not know, MOPS stands for Mothers of Preschoolers. MOPS has been a lifeline for me. I have made friendships here that have saved my sanity. I have gained untold wisdom from our speakers. I cannot say enough good things to give back what I have received from MOPS.

Here is August

DID YOU KNOW?

George Ferris invented the Ferris Wheel for the 1893 World’s Columbian Exposition (World’s Fair) in Chicago. It was built to rival Paris’s Eiffel Tower which was unveiled at the 1889 Paris Exhibition.

This Ferris Wheel was 26 stories tall (260 feet) and held 2,160 people at a time. (Our local hospital is 12 stories tall.) For fifty cents you could get a 20 minute ride, once around non-stop and a second rotation when they let people on and off.

