I was with some friends yesterday who were talking about how much they decorate for Christmas and how they had downsized to simplify this year.  I decided I have always had a healthy attitude about doing the Christmas thing.  I have some stuff, I put some of it out, never all of it, I also get rid of some each year.  I never have bought all new stuff to do a “theme”.  My theme is what ever ornaments my kids have…because theirs are newer than mine.  I decorate the living room and put a few things around the house, nothing in the bathroom or bedrooms, we just have one tree, well, I gave the old fake one to the kids, so technically two, and it is in a bedroom.  I make cookies sometimes if I have time, and maybe some English toffee. 

We exchange gifts with our parents, my Nebraska grandparents and our children, plus my husband’s sister who lives in town, no other siblings or friends.  My kids will get one or two things from Santa, and something from us, plus a few fun things in their stockings.  For Christmas I give my grandmother printed address labels of her Christmas card list.  She doesn’t have to dust it or store it and since she sends out 60 cards, it will save her at least hour, and hand cramps.

It is possible to love Christmas and not make your house look like the North Pole.  It is probably better to love Christmas without spending weeks decorating, making all kinds of sweets to exchange and spending hundreds in gifts for everyone you know.  The memories your children will keep are not whether you used snowmen this year or a nature theme, they will remember sledding and how magical the church looks when lit by candles. 

 

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags? Wrapping paper

2. Real tree or Artificial? Real, and hopefully not Cedar again

3. When do you put up the tree? When ever we get around to getting it

4. When do you take the tree down? After Jan. 1

5. Do you like eggnog? Yes, especially spiked!

6. Favorite gift received as a child? my saddle, or the Barbie doll clothes my aunt made

7. Hardest person to buy for? My husband and my stepson

8. Easiest person to buy for? Leo

9. Do you have a nativity scene? Yes, several

10. Mail or email Christmas cards? Mail

11. Worst Christmas gift you ever received? A used dress

12. Favorite Christmas Movie(s)? It’s a Wonderful Life or maybe Christmas Vacation

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas? I used to start in January, but I don’t get that ambitious anymore.  I get things all year long and stash them in a closet to be forgotten until sometime between Christmas and New Year’s Day.

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present? I don’t think so

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas? I can’t narrow that down, I like to eat sweets and most things I didn’t cook

16. Who will you miss seeing at Christmas? My brother

17. Favorite Christmas song? O Holy Night

18. Travel at Christmas or stay home? Stay Home

19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer? Unbelievably, yes

20. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning? Christmas morning

21. Opinion of Christmas newsletters – I like them.

22. Most annoying thing about this time of the year? Stupid Christmas songs, like Grandma got run over by a reindeer

23. Favorite ornament, theme or color? I like snowmen and mittens

24. Favorite Christmas dinner? Roast beef and tart cherry pie

25. What do you want for Christmas this year? that is a tough one, I need new clothes, books, maybe a tea set…

