Well, it has been quite a long time between blogs for me here.  Tonight I actually went on a date with GD.  We had Mongolian grill then watched Valkyrie.  (We never go to the mall theater, except for tonight.  The prices are shameless and buying refreshments is like being held up in the alley.  Our downtown theater charges $3.5 for adults and $3 buys a huge popcorn, drinks start at $1.) We were watching a commercial on TV earlier in the evening, and I said, “That music is ‘Ride of the Valkyries’.”  I love being right!  The babysitter even cleaned up the kitchen.  Life is good.

I have discovered a new mystery series to love.  C.J. Box.  He (or she) writes about north central Wyoming.  The protagonist is a game warden who seems to get into all kinds of trouble.  I don’t know for sure what I like so much, I know I like the attention to detail he puts into the scene.  The characters step out of the page.  I like that I feel familiar with the landscape.  The author’s description of the small town is fantastic.  Having lived in a town just like Saddlestring, it is like reading about home, I think I even know some of the characters.

Probably people who live in New Jersey feel the same way about Stephanie Plum, or maybe not.  Another author I like a lot is Lisa Wingate.  I just read another book of hers.  Her books are all related to each other, vaguely, but you don’t have to read them in order to understand things.  They are also about a rural area near here. 

I am trying to read the Bible all the way through this year.  As much as I read, it is a shame I have not read all of it by now.  This thing has me hopping all over the Bible, so that is kind of fun. 

I just wanted to say hello.

