Okay, forgive me if this post is a little weird, I did Zumba at the Y almost three hours ago, and I am still disoriented.  I don’t know if I can do it again.  My friend Madeline has been asking me to go with her for several months.  I said, “sure, sure” but never made it.  She reminded me yesterday, so I went today and surprised her.  I surprised myself. 

Zumba, for those of you who don’t know, is a Machiavellian combination of Latin dance steps a la Jazzercize.  I never attempted Jazzercize because I am really not coordinated.  I am unsure why I thought I could do this.  The class was packed and of course my friend is one of those sickos who have to be in the front row.  She got the corner and I ended up right behind the drill sergeant, I mean instructor. Half-way through I made my friend switch with me so I could have the corner by the water cooler with no cups.  I don’t remember sweating that much.  Ever.  I didn’t sweat that much when I gave birth to my babies.

I hate dancing to rock music because I never know what to do, but I love country swing and two step and all that.  Tell me what to do and I will do it backwards with a smile.  Teach me a dance routine and I will be one and a half beats behind you the whole way.  I can do the feet or I can do the hands, but when they are together I look like…well did you watch the Dancing With the Stars season that had Billy Joe Cyrus?  Yeah, I looked like that but without the fan base to vote for me. I looked like Merle Haggard at a Gloria Estevan concert.  (Please let me know if you got the reference there to the Boodhound Gang.  I need to be reassured that I am not the only one who thinks sicko music is funny.)

By the end of the class over 1/3 of the people had left.  Their friends quit with them instead of finishing the hour like mine did.  We did about five minutes of yoga at the end, and I was familiar with that and managed to look graceful for the first time all evening. The instructor said you should try it three times before you decide you like it or not.  She acted like she was talking to new people in general, but I think I was the only one left.  I might try it again, I know I need to loose some weight.  I hear tell that Monday morning is not as intense as this was, and I think yoga is right after.  I miss yoga.

So to take advantage kid free time, I went grocery shopping afterwards.  Yes, hungry and exhausted.  I bought lots of fruits and vegetables and several things I will be hiding in the cupboards to counteract all the weight I lost tonight.

