My friend madhousewife invited me to play a game, to find ten things I liked that all start with the same letter.  She even gave me a letter, D.

C6C17C5D

1.  Daughters  I love my daughters, all three of ’em.  My daughters are great mirrors, they use this ability to teach me about parenting.  They are also just the right size to snuggle with while watching a movie.  They make my heart sing.

 

diplodocus

2.  Diplodocus  Pronounced Di-PLOD-o-cus these herbivores were among the largest of the dinosaurs.  They stood 16 feet at the hip and were around 90 feet long.  Their tails made up 45 feet of their length.  A dead one of these puppies makes several thousand barrels of oil.  I just made that fact up.  I have been reading a lot about dinosaurs lately since I have a two-year-old boy.  They have different dinosaurs now than when I was a kid.

 

 daiquiri

3.  Daiquiri  Somewhere around the turn of the century, the last one that is, some Cuban got the bright idea to use rum with lemon juice as a pain killer.  When he got better results than he expected he added sugar and started marketing the drink.  Through the years bartenders have fiddled with the recipe and came up with any number of versions.

Can you believe there is a site called  strawberry-daiquiri-recipe.com ?

1/2 oz strawberry schnapps
1 oz light rum
1 oz lime juice
1 tsp powdered sugar
1 oz strawberries

Blend with ice (in blender). Garnishing with strawberry takes a little bit of time, but if you are making the drink for anyone but yourself (ie, a party, barbecue, or any visitors) the garnish will make you look like a professional bartender and is well worth the extra few seconds it takes.

Drenched2

4.  Drench I love this word.  It reeks of blissful excess; drenched in chocolate, drenched in light, drenched in rain.  I try not to think of it in a veterinary sense.

donuts

5.  Donuts Speaking of chocolate…Our conservative Puritans brought these confections to the New World from Holland.  The dilemma of a baker, what to do when you finish a project and have leftover dough?  Some boiled it and made dumplings, some fried it and made donuts.  Where would you rather live? Fried breads evolved in societies all over the world.  Originally donuts were of the raised variety, but I don’t care for them as much as a cake donut. Not that I have any business eating either.

disco

6.  Disco I am a mere dilatant of disco music, but it makes me want to move.  I love Roberta Flack who segues between R&B and Disco, the other stuff too, BeeGees, KC and the Sunshine Band (I know, lame).

denver

7.  Denver  I have been to several big cities, but Denver holds a special place in my heart.  I certainly have no intention of living there, don’t misunderstand me.  My wonderful Aunt Mildred did live there.  She used to let us walk her dog around the block.  I  had never heard of walking a dog until we visited her, ours just ran free.  Denver is home to Six Flags Over Elitchs (as I will always call it), Casa Bonita, The Tattered Cover, The Denver Art Museum, The Denver Stock Show, Baby Doe’s (which probably is not around any more), and Cinderella City, which I know is not around any more. (I dare you to come up with a mall name that would appeal more to young girls than Cinderella City.)  I learned about elegance and class in Denver, which is not to say that it is either elegant or classy, but in comparison to my hometown it was worlds away, but only a three hour drive.

1001[1]

8.  Dimples

9.  Donnybrook I love this word too.  Donnybrook, Ireland was famous for drunken brawls that would occur there during the annual fair.  Since then, the word has come to mean a free-for-all fight.  Rumor had it our HS Wrestling coach would say, “Fasten your jockstraps boys, there’s gonna be a donnybrook tonight” before meets.  I think it came from a movie, but I don’t know what.

10.  Drupe  But isn’t that a peach?  Ah yes, I did manage to learn a thing or two from my taxonomy class.  Peaches and cherries are both drupes.  Believe it or not coffee beans and coconuts are also drupes.  Other drupes I like include olives, walnuts, pecans, almonds, mangos, pistachios, and dates. It helped when the teacher brought samples of what we were learning about.

