The phone call came when I was 10 minutes from home.

“When are you coming home?”

“I’m on my way now.  Why?”

“Where are you?”

“I am going past the elevator; do you need me to get something?”

“No, Leo pooped and I wondered how long it would be before you came home.”

Click.

 

What is it with guys and poopy diapers?  It isn’t like cow manure bothers him, or pig or horse or chicken manure, heck pig poop doesn’t even wash out!  This man has had his arm (up to the armpit) in a cow’s rectum and he balks at changing diapers on his own flesh and blood?  Sure he will do it, but only if there is no alternative. 

 

In my seven years of researching poopy diapers, I have found three anomalies.

 

1.  While my step-dad won’t go out of his way to change one of my kids, he has good naturedly offered to watch the kids with the understanding that there was a good likelihood of a poopy diaper.

 

2.  When Leo was about three-weeks-old we visited a friend.  Leo pooped loudly, like three-week-old babies do.  I got up to take him from my friend Don to change him when Don said, “That’s okay, I can change him.”

“Don, he pooped, I’ll get it.”

“No prob, I got it.”

And I sat there with my jaw in my lap and watched a guy I used to work with change a poopy diaper on my baby.

 

3.  My college freshman (step) nephew offered to watch Leo when he was a baby.  I was a little nervous leaving my six-month-old with my 228-month-old nephew, but Mom assured me he would be in good hands.  We would be just across town at the ice-skating rink, so I could rescue either one if he needed it.  Little did I know.  When we went back to pick him up, Derek had not only changed his diaper a couple of times but he had fed him applesauce and his bottle then changed his outfit.  (Leo was a puker by nature.)  The poor kid barely had time for his nap (Leo not Derek)!

 

Quote of the Day.

Men should always change diapers.  It’s a very rewarding experience.  It’s mentally cleansing.  It’s like washing dishes, but imagine if the dishes were your kids, so you really love the dishes.”  Chris Martin, Coldplay.

 

It sounds like that guy has some issues.  My husband did not get the diaper gene, however we have hammered out an unspoken deal.  I handle poop and puke and he handles snakes.  Thank God I am busier than he is.  Does your hubby change diapers?

