I watched No Country for Old Men the other day.  That is a rough movie.  I may have to watch it one more time so I can understand it better.  Maybe not, I may not have a spare two hours hanging around my calendar.

 

I am now in the habit of being online while watching a movie so I can try to figure out why certain actors look familiar; mostly I am left wondering, for example the guy who was in the know about Afghanistan (Phillip Seymour Hoffman) in Charlie Wilson’s War, he looked so familiar and I had never seen anything he was in.  I think he sounded more familiar than he looked.  I probably saw him in some stuff nearly 20 years ago, but I can’t possibly remember him from then, it’s not like I am trying to remember Kirk Cameron or someone that a girl in her 20s might notice.  Maybe he does books on CD.

 

I found a site that listed anachronisms in the movies as well as actors and their previous parts.  The list of anachronisms in NCFOM was as long as your arm.  Mostly they were teeny things like the nearly illegible name of the dairy on the milk bottle was not in business in 1980.  After scanning it, I noticed that the list had its own little “anachronism” in it.  They said he was hunting deer at the beginning of the movie, but they weren’t deer, they were antelope.  Ha, so there.

 

I did discover that the bad guy in NCFOM who bore a striking resemblance to Professor Snape, actually isn’t so bad looking in real life. Javier Bardem Well, sometimes he looks better than others, but he doesn’t always look like a psychopath!

