We went swimming at Cousin Anne’s yesterday afternoon.  I took the opportunity to wash a sleeping bag, saddle blanket and a filthy pair of coveralls at the laundromat to the tune of 19 quarters for one load.  When we got home I got the kids inside and went to hang up the laundry because I couldn’t hardly afford to dry them at the laundromat.  Ha.  Before I could get back in the house the kids greeted me with “Paul has blood everywhere!”  Sure enough he had a huge gash on his forehead, the kids said he hit it on the bed.  I interpreted this to mean jumping on the bed.  I called the neighbors then called GD and arranged to pick him up on the way.  I wiped his face with a paper towel, and the bleeding stopped.  Then he puked on the roll of paper towels.  We chose to go to the emergency room, I have heard Promptcare does not do stitches on faces and I was pretty sure he needed stitches.  The doctor we got sang little songs to Paul and did a great job.  After we got home, the ladies woke up and asked where Paul was.  I told them he was in his crib, then told them the Dr said, “No more monkeys jumping on the bed!”  They said that he tripped over Leo and hit his head on the bed.  This morning it came out that Mae was carrying him and she tripped over Leo and Paul hit his head on the bed that way.

Paul has not seen his reflection, and I hope to keep it that way, so he won’t notice the stitches any sooner than he has to.  He was great, he even fell asleep on the way to the hospital- because he was tired not because he had a concussion.  In other news we got two tenths of rain last night on my laundry.  Oops.

 

mid august-13

