As summer winds to a close, I can glance out to my deck and clearly see which plants worked for me.  I am the sort of gardener who likes to look at the flowers, not spend time watering them every day. Following are my recommendations for drought tolerant plants, for the “otherwise occupied” gardener.

 

Angelonia This was a new one for me, but it grew happily in a planter and I will probably get it again, this time I will probably plant it with something else.  It’s name sounds like Prince’s girlfriend’s name, only better.

September 09-56 

Arboricola I have had exceptional luck with this houseplant.  I got my first one when I was a freshman in college.  It lasted about 15 years.  It can withstand the occasional freeze, especially if you don’t care what your plant looks like.  It finally froze too much.  I was pretty bummed, but when they started handing out the gift plants from my grandpa’s funeral, I chose another one.  It is doing well, after a small freeze because it got left in the back of the car in March.  Oops.  It was ugly for a while, but it snapped out of it in spades.

September 09-57

 

Bacopa This stuff can come back from near death time and time again, I love it.

September 09-59

 

Gerber Daisy I am hoping I can take this one inside this winter.  I think I heard you can.

September 09-19

 

Lantana I first learned about this from my sister-in-law who could raise it outside in Mississippi.  Here it comes in for the winter, either in the garage or our bedroom.  It sheds leaves all over then goes dormant for a month then it grows again.  It has some flowers ready to open and some that are on their way out, so the photo does not do it justice.

September 09-60

 

Laurentia I called my greenhouse lady twice to figure out what this was, (she was more patient than I deserved, but she turned me onto Swan River Daisy for next year).  Laurentia is just glorious; it blooms all summer long and needs no maintenance.

 

 September 09-58

 

I am not sure what this is, but it had “Tequila and lime” in the name and it smells great!  It will go inside this winter as well.

September 09-54  

 

Of course I have impatiens, petunias and pansies too.  These hardy plants do well in a sporadic watering situation.

 

I know you all have been anxiously waiting to hear about that wildflower I was trying to germinate- scarlet globemallow.  Well, of the 100 seeds I planted, none sprouted.  None.  I went camping and dug some up from a state park with a plastic spoon with as much native soil as I could get.  They looked pretty darn good, then Paul dumped them out and played in the dirt.  I put it back and am hoping there was something to survive.  Then a friend mailed me a plant, and that looked dead, then looked promising then the cats started using that container for a bed then it looked dead and now it looks like this.  I call it promising.  I guess we will see next year.

September 09-61

 

From the Men in Plaid series…

 September 09-35

 

Leo and his potty tractor and big boy underwear.  Success at last.

 September 09-01

 

Will the baby kitty fit in the trailer?

September 09-53

 

The ladies looking lovely.  I forget how short Jane is, she is 15 months younger than Mae.

September 09-37

 

And the whole family except the granddaughter.  I am having an exceptional hair day, if I had realized that, I might have lurked around so people could take more photos of me.  Paul’s finger, by the way, is in his mouth, he is getting teeth.

September 09-38

