Maybe I am the only person who has this problem, but I learned something yesterday. 

After taking a now black aluminum pan out of my dishwasher, I called the number on the Cascade bottle.  My pans used to be shiny, maybe even six months ago, now they are turning black.  At first she tried to give me some song-and-dance about using a dishwasher, but I pointed out I had been washing them in the dishwasher for 20 years and this started six months ago.  The only thing that could have changed was the detergent.  The nice lady explained that Cascade was removing phosphates from their products.  I am all about that.  Apparently whatever replaces phosphates does this to aluminum.  I guess I see some polish and handwashing in my future.  Or ugly pans.

Now I seriously need to work on my Christmas letter.

 

