I name my shoes. Is that weird? Not all of my shoes rank high enough to have names, just the special ones. Before you think I am too weird, I use descriptive names, my closet holds nobody named Amy or Phyllis, although it is home to my Interview Shoes.

I bought my Interview Shoes while pregnant with my second child. My boss informed me that she could not allow me to go part time, and I had hopes that I could find a decent paying job that would. Although I did not get a part time job, I got a nice pair of classic brown shoes in the deal. They look nice with pants, similar to my old City Slicker Shoes.

My Parachute Shoes date from high school. They were funky olive drab canvas shoes with a rubber sole, that had…parachutes in the tread. I wore them through college, and eventually they wore out. They didn’t look nice with anything, but people noticed them.

A cross between tennis shoes and cowboy boots, my Pony Boots look classy with jeans and a nice shirt. With more traction than a Tony Lama they aren’t good for dancing but you can walk in them all day. Unfortunately the uppers have separated from the rubber sole in a place, and I haven’t bought another pair, so they only go out when the forecast is nice.

Probably my Sexy Shoes don’t need a description, but they are black and sparkly and, I will add, the first and only time I wore them I got pregnant.

I bought a pair of shoes this week at Penney’s, for a wedding this weekend. They are by Jacqueline Ferrar and they look great on my particular size of foot, never mind what that may be. I call them my Kick-Ass Strappy Shoes. Mine are Champagne colored. If any shoe could get me pregnant again it would be these; the price was right and they are comfortable too.

My Big Bird Shoes, bright yellow Converse All Stars, were three or four sizes too big for me. They were not practical unless I was boating, when they were handy because water and sand would drain right out and the shoes stayed on my feet. This was in the days before Teevos. They were a good conversation piece.

Less interesting are my Cowboy Boots. I bought them at Cheyenne Frontier Days a little tight around the early 1990s. The clerk told me bull hide would not stretch much. I started wearing them with two pairs of socks the third time we left the house together, but I love them enough to have had them re-heeled and re-soled.

The rest of my shoes are pretty typical, everyone has them, and they aren’t distinctive enough to earn names, garden shoes, sandals, snow boots, and tennies.

My daughters started naming shoes as well. I am not sure where they picked it up, because I don’t usually talk about my shoes by name. They get excited when I put on my Clip Clop Shoes. These would be anything I wear on Sunday that make noise on the kitchen floor, usually with pantyhose and a dress. They have some Clip Clop Shoes of their own as well. They also have Lightening Shoes, Black Boots and Papa Sandals.

Who knows why I name my shoes? I don’t buy more than two pairs a year, so I don’t have a “thing” about lots of shoes. In fact, I try to toss a pair of shoes each time I buy a new pair. I live in my tennies, so maybe it is an exciting occasion to wear something else.

