I had an interesting Christmas. It wasn’t bad. I went to church Christmas eve then went to a friend’s house to eat crablegs and brisket and play cards until the wee hours of the morning, as that is when cards are best played. My friend Harry entertained us with his version of “The bear necessities” from Jungle Book complete with several verses and some back-scratching action as well, (the fact that he is built quite a bit like Balu only enhanced the image) We are still laughing!  Then Christmas day I did the un-thinkable. I invited my mom and step-dad and my dad and his girlfriend to dinner. I also invited Harry as a buffer. Partially this insanity was to avoid having to feel like I had to go two places and eat two meals. I made a roast and potatoes. Everyone brought the rest so it worked out well. My mom asked that we play cards so we would have something to occupy our time. So we played cards. Mom’s daring side came out and she went set several times, and took her partner Harry down with her. Later she called and made a comment about how she hoped Harry wasn’t too mad about losing because of her. I said I didn’t think he cared about winning that much. He told me later he had a good time, and I think we all did. The best part for me was setting my dad three times in a row…

In other exciting news, we get to wear blue jeans and “book” tee-shirts at work on Thursdays if we have “book” T shirts. Otherwise we have to wear slacks (or in my case probably colored jeans because they don’t make too many “slacks” with a long inseam). I don’t have a lot in the way of “book” shirts but I got approval to wear a kick-ass jersey (once I get it bought) which has Vonnegut across the shoulders and the number “5.”  They also had “Poe 13” (because his wife was 13 when they married and “Thorou [except they spelled it right]23” because he was 23 when he went to live on Walden Pond, and a bunch of others. I love the inside joke! novel-t.com

 

Wildflowersp

