I have been reading my subs here, but not writing anything. On Xanga anyway. I do feel a blog coming on though, a gun blog.

 

No, this has nothing to do with Arizona. As has been rather bluntly pointed out to me on FaceBook, I don’t have many facts about that. You see I get my news from magazines, and mine came in the mail today. I find that magazines have the right photo: word: advertisement ratio for me and the ads are easy to ignore. Don’t tell me you can’t have a three-way ratio. I don’t want to hear it. Our local weather guy has pretty much put me off TV news until he retires. He is so colossally lousy he has to be sleeping with the station manager. Besides I feel shortchanged when I watch the news, or even listen to it on the radio. I end up with too many unanswered questions and just feel over all unsatisfied.  I realize I should listen to NPR. I got out of the habit I guess. The paper here is lousy too. And while Nebraska thought of the Omaha World Herald as the state’s official newspaper, Omaha felt differently and they no longer deliver it more than a couple of hours away from Omaha. You can have it mailed. The Denver Post and The Cheyenne and Rapid City papers aren’t any different. Let’s see, this was about guns.

 

I grew up with guns. Dad had several including an AR15 which is semi-automatic and a blast to shoot. He didn’t hunt, didn’t shoot targets and didn’t have them for protection. He mostly just had them. He would use one to kill a mortally wounded cow or something, but mostly they stayed locked up in the gun cabinet. My brother and I plugged our fair share of pop cans with a .22 over the years. We both passed hunter’s safety courses. My brother probably has several guns.

 

So I have what I would call a healthy respect for firearms. I think there is a place for them in our country, but I don’t think they are for everyone. Personally, I would just as soon not watch our library patrons wielding them at the computer table, even if they do have a license to carry. I think a big part of the problem is that the people you hear about either love LOVE guns or they hate HATE guns. The people who aren’t obsessed one way or the other are the silent majority.

 

My friend on FB said something along the lines of: A boy who hunts and traps doesn’t shoot innocent people. I can’t argue with a word of that.  I suppose it is entirely possible that a kid like that could go nutso, but I don’t remember hearing of anything like that happening.

 

In other exciting news, I learned today that Miss America used to be a carryout in my grocery store. She is from my town of 14,000 people. I didn’t even remember that she was going to be at the Miss America Pageant. It isn’t like I knew her in the first place; I was in college when she was born, but pretty much everyone else around her knows her. I guess I ought to check that out on Hulu or something. See, that is what happens when you don’t subscribe to the local paper, even if it isn’t worth using in the outhouse.

